EMDR: Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing

Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR) therapy is an extensively researched, effective psychotherapy method proven to help people recover from trauma and other distressing life experiences, including PTSD, anxiety, depression, and panic disorders.

EMDR therapy does not require talking in detail about the distressing issue or completing homework between sessions. EMDR therapy, rather than focusing on changing the emotions, thoughts, or behaviors resulting from the distressing issue, allows the brain to resume its natural healing process.

EMDR therapy is designed to resolve unprocessed traumatic memories in the brain. For many clients, EMDR therapy can be completed in fewer sessions than other psychotherapies.

Attachment - Focused EMDR

Dr Laurel Parnell PhD.

CSAT: Certified Sex Addiction Therapy

Certified Sexual Addiction Therapist (CSAT) is a designation given to a Licensed Therapist who has completed the intense certification training program offered through the International Institute for Trauma and Addiction Professionals (IITAP). The IITAP mission is to provide cutting-edge training and promote the highest level of professional standards among practitioners worldwide that treat those individuals with sex addiction and associated disorders.
The CSAT program is fast becoming the standard certification for all therapists working with individuals who suffer from addictive and compulsive sexual behaviors. It is designed to provide formal knowledge and training in the task-centered approach to the treatment of sexual addiction and sexual compulsivity.

The CSAT designation provides a professional with recognition as an expert in the field of sex addiction treatment and participation in an international referral network. It is IITAP’s role to facilitate the CSAT Certification Process, as well as other certification programs.

CMAT: Certified Multiple Addiction Therapy

Have you ever had a client that, regardless of how much work he or she does, always relapses? Almost 50% of people suffering from an addiction have more than one addiction. Not assessing for multiple addictions and identifying how they interact with one another can inhibit or delay a client’s recovery. Because of this IITAP has developed the multiple addiction certification to help practitioners treat co-occurring disorders. Practitioners have the opportunity to expand their knowledge in the following area:

IFS: Internal Family Systems

Frank Anderson MD

IFS was developed in the 1990s by family therapist Richard Schwartz, Ph.D., who developed the concept of an undamaged core Self that is the essence of who you are, and identified three different types of sub-personalities or families that reside within each person, in addition to the Self. These include wounded and suppressed parts called exiles, protective parts called managers, that keep the exiled parts suppressed, and other protective parts called firefighters, that distract the Self from the pain of exiled parts when they are released. For example, an exiled part may be the trauma and anger of earlier abuse, emotions that are suppressed by the manager, while the firefighter may be an alcohol addiction or behavior such as overeating that distracts the client from facing and re-experiencing those uncomfortable emotions.

Brainspotting Phase 1

Smith College Deborah Antinori, LPC

Brainspotting (BSP) allows clients to guide themselves through their own subconscious. They choose what issue they’d like to start with. Then, they explore in and around it with only light guidance by their therapist. This method uses fixated, steady eye positions.